india: day 3: venturing out in jaipur

there are A LOT of people in india. they are some of the nicest people i have ever met, too. they are very receptive when it comes to having their picture clicked. there is so much going on at all times in india. my theory is that they shut out everything happening around them so they don’t even notice or care that i am shooting them.

here are some pictures from daily life in jaipur, rajasthan.

india is the clashing of two worlds: primitive and modern.

offering blessings a the chapel by feeding the pigeons

fort on the hill

she gave us an indian sweet. it’s basically reduced milk and sugar paste. ridiculously sweet.

walking barefoot into krishna’s temple at jaipur city center

people praying to the idol of krishna

the priests throw water onto the people

this old man gave me a photo of the idol and some basil to bless me

offerings offerings offerings

puja

the light in india is unreal

sweeping garbage

people watching free tv, smoking cigarettes and reading newspapers

real chai!

the transportation system in india is nuts

indians are resourceful by necessity

jaipur museum

my barber

my mustache (mooch)

an indian traffic jam at the market

making sweets

testing out my portrait lens

dogs everywhere

this guy made me laugh

inside the flour mill

the flour walla

deep in the bowels of the mill

my fearless guide, abhishek

this guy proceeded to invite us to his home for tea and a prayer at his private lakshmi temple

his wife did all the work.

she’s wearing a neck brace!

making incense

“rocky” the owner and operator of the finest incense and aromatic oils store in jaipur

testing oils

public bathroom

huge talle lunch at l&b

so many people in repose in india…it’s baffling

paper boy

so many alleys to explore!

common sight

my eyes had black gunk in them by the end of the day…the air quality is so poor

pilgrims

resting between fares

my new elephant friend

human seat belt

~ by jacobbmurphy on September 4, 2010.

5 Responses to “india: day 3: venturing out in jaipur”

  1. These are great!! I am wondering what lenses you are finding the most useful?

  2. Hey!Jacob thank you very much for uploading my & rocky’s photos.The ones which were taken at my shop.Pls send me more photos of ours which you clicked. Those are really nice as well.Great work and all the best to you!

  3. I am so going to visit this blog frequently. I can’t wait to see you at the kids table…or are we past that now? NEVER!!!!

  4. the more I see your pictures, the stronger the itch gets to go.to.india.badly.

  5. Awesome, ain’t it? 😉

Leave a Reply

 
