project 365: day #37

i know i owe you several more days for the project, but believe me the shots have been taken they just aren’t up yet. i’ve been in a bit of a slump lately. between my two jobs, working on my photo project with devin, living out of a suitcase and sleeping on couches, i’m tired. so tired. i rarely have the chance (or the energy) to get out and shoot at the end of the day.

once again, my internship saves the day!

as part of my internship, i have the privilege of running errands several times a day. i don’t say this with sarcasm. i love getting out of the studio and seeing what goes on in new york city in the middle of a work day. today i was sent to the union square barnes & noble. jackpot. there’s always a ton of stuff going on in union square. HOWEVER, i’ve reached a point in my shooting where not much catches my eye or even interests me to bother shooting it. this is one of only four frames i took while on this journey across the city.

this is most definitely a first for me. i was fascinated. this muslim street vendor was praying (facing west, of course) as his muslim friend stood guard to protect his station. this picture/phenomenon gives me an idea for a possible story. we’ll see how it plays out.

(click image to view larger)

(click image to view larger)

~ by jacobbmurphy on February 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
